All-WCHA awards announced; Patterson on second team

by Austin Cumblad

All-WCHA teams were announced today, with junior goaltender Kent Patterson Minnesota’s lone representative. He made the second team, (presumably) barely edged by North Dakota’s Aaron Dell. Various media members have publicized their WCHA ballots in recent days and judging by the small and unscientific sample, it seemed a tight race for first-team honors between Patterson and Dell.

In league play, Patterson led the conference with a .926 save percentage and was second with a 2.31 goals against average. Dell allowed only 1.97 goals per game but was seventh in WCHA play with a .912 save percentage. In this reporter’s humble opinion, Patterson was more valuable to his team, but then I saw him play live all season and relied only on NoDak’s box scores to determine Dell’s contribution (needless to say, that doesn’t tell the whole story).

The WCHA also announced its All-WCHA Academic team, given to players with a GPA the previous two semesters above 3.0. Twelve Gophers made the team: Jay Barriball, Zach Budish, Jacob Cepis, Cade Fairchild, Mike Hoeffel, Jake Kremer, Nick Larson, Taylor Matson, Joe Miller, Aaron Ness, Kent Patterson and Nico Sacchetti.

Below is the complete list of WCHA awards:

2010-11 WCHA Major Award Winners

WCHA Player of the Year
Matt Frattin
University of North Dakota

WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year
Chay Genoway

University of North Dakota

WCHA Defensive Player of the Year
Justin Schultz
University of Wisconsin

WCHA Rookie of the Year
Jason Zucker
University of Denver

WCHA Scoring Champion
Matt Frattin
University of North Dakota

WCHA Goaltending Champion
Aaron Dell
University of North Dakota

WCHA Coach of the Year
Dean Blais
University of Nebraska Omaha

2010-11 All-WCHA First Team

    Pos   Name               Team                          
    F      Matt Frattin      North Dakota               
    F      Jack Connolly   Minnesota Duluth        
    F      Mike Connolly   Minnesota Duluth    
    D      Justin Schultz   Wisconsin                   
    D      Chay Genoway North Dakota    
    G      Aaron Dell        North Dakota               

2010-11 All-WCHA Second Team

    Pos   Name               Team                          
    F      Jason Zucker    Denver                        
    F      Drew Shore      Denver                        
    F      Justin Fontaine Minnesota Duluth    
    D      Jake Gardiner   Wisconsin                   
    D      Matt Donovan   Denver                        
    G      Kent Patterson Minnesota                           

2010-11 All-WCHA Third Team

    Pos   Name               Team              
    F      Jason Gregoire North Dakota               
    F      Jaden Schwartz Colorado College         
    F      Drew LeBlanc   St. Cloud State            
    D      Kurt Davis        Minnesota State          
    D      Justin Faulk      Minnesota Duluth        
    G      John Faulkner   Nebraska Omaha         

2010-11 All-WCHA Rookie Team

    Pos   Name               Team                          
    F      Jason Zucker    Denver                        
    F      Jaden Schwartz Colorado College         
    F      J.T. Brown        Minnesota Duluth        
    D      Justin Faulk      Minnesota Duluth        
    D      David Makowski Denver                        
    G      Sam Brittain     Denver