Gophers coach

Minnesota head track and field coach Phil Lundin was named Big Ten coach of the year after leading the Gophers men’s track team to its second consecutive Big Ten outdoor title.
Lundin, however, wasn’t enthralled by the award.
“It’s like saying Eisenhower won World War II,” Lundin said. “There are too many parts to track and field, and (all track and field coaches) have very important roles. As far as I’m concerned, you can throw it out.”
It was the first time in school history that Minnesota has won back-to-back titles, and the first time the Gophers have crowned five individual champions.
“I voted for Iowa coach Larry Wieczorek,” Lundin said. “Their second place finish was their highest finish since 1967. I thought he was more deserving than me.
“It’s good though, not just for me, but for the University.”
Six Gophers will compete at the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field championships in Boise.

Women’s track and field
Sophomores Christine Gulbrandsen and Aubrey Schmitt have been named to the Academic All-District At-Large team.
Both will compete for the Gophers at the NCAA Track and Field championships June 2-5 in Boise.
Gulbrandsen has a 3.67 gpa in German and international relations. She is the Minnesota record holder in the indoor and outdoor triple jump, and won the Big Ten triple jump title.
Schmitt holds a 3.43 gpa in biology, and won her third consecutive outdoor Big Ten shot put title, and also won the indoor title before finishing second at the NCAA Indoor championships with a school record 54-4 3/4.

Women’s swimming/diving
Minnesota head coach Jean Freeman was awarded the National Collegiate and Scholastic Swimming Trophy.
The award is the highest of its kind in the nation and is presented annually to an individual for contributing to swimming as a competitive sport and as a recreational activity at schools.
Freeman led the Gophers to their first-ever conference championship this season and was named Big Ten coach of the year for the fourth time.
“It was unusual,” Freeman said. “You don’t think about yourself in that category. I was surprised, because the coach who won it last year won the NCAA’s, and we’re weren’t quite in that league.”
Freeman is the first woman to win the award in its 41-year history.
“(The College Swimming Coaches Association) is more inclusive of women,” Freeman said. “When I first started coaching, they would not allow women to join. They sent me my check back.
“I’m proud that women are finally included, but amazed that it had taken so long.”