Gophers sweep top-three Patty Kaz finalists

Megan Ryan

For the first time in the 16-year history of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, all the top-three finalists are from the same school.

USA Hockey announced Thursday Gophers women's hockey players senior defender Megan Bozek, junior forward Amanda Kessel and senior goaltender Noora Räty will vie for the annual award given to the best Division I player.

This is Bozek and Kessel's first time in the top three while Räty made the final three her freshman season. Freshman forward Hannah Brandt made the top-10 list of nominees this year.

Minnesota only has one past winner, Krissy Wendell n 2005. 

This year's award will be given at the Patty Kazmaier Banquet on March 23 at the McNamara Alumni Center while the Gophers host the NCAA championships.