NCAA announces sites for future tournaments

Betsy Helfand

The University of Minnesota has been selected by the NCAA to host the 2018 NCAA men's hockey Frozen Four and the 2015 and 2018 women's hockey Frozen Four. 

The 2018 men's Frozen Four and the 2016 NCAA West Regional will be played at the Xcel Energy Center.

"The Xcel Energy Center, the city of St. Paul and the University of Minnesota have a great history of hosting first-class events and we look forward to continuing that tradition over the next few years," men's head coach Don Lucia said in a release. 

The University has hosted the men's NCAA Frozen Four seven times. The last time was in 2011.

Ridder Arena hosted the women's Frozen Four in 2010 and 2013, which the Gophers won. 

"The University of Minnesota takes great pride in putting on a first class tournament for the teams and fans that are involved. This is a great honor for our university, and I am confident that these championships will be two more memorable, top notch events," women's head coach Brad Frost said. 

Ridder Arena will also host the 2015 NCAA Division III men's hockey championship.