Abda named Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year

He is also the Co-Track Athlete of the Big Ten championships.

Megan Ryan

The Big Ten Conference named Minnesota men’s track and field middle-distance runner Harun Abda Track Athlete of the Year.

Abda is the reigning Big Ten champion of the 400-meter dash and the 600, in which he set the Big Ten record. He earned Co-Track Athlete of the Big Ten championships along with Indiana’s Andy Bayer.

His 800 time of one minute, 46.97 seconds is currently the fastest collegiate time in the nation this year. Abda will compete in this event at the NCAA Indoor championships March 9-10.

Abda also made the Big Ten First Team, as did teammates Micah Hegerle and Hassan Mead. David Pachuta and Jack Szmanda made the Second Team.