U’s club cricket team has early season success

The ninth annual Minnesota State University System Cricket Tournament was held at St. Cloud State University last Saturday and Sunday.
Eight teams participated in the tournament from around the state, including the University of Minnesota’s cricket club. The U’s club team came away with the championship title.
The club team consists of Yousuf Mamsa (captain), Saqib Ali (vice captain), Anshul Chandra, Bilal Anwer, Brijesh Sujan, Deepak Jatwani, Nadir Budhwani, Rahim Amin, Raktim Bhattacharya, Sumedh Pathak and Waseem Hasan.
What is cricket?
Cricket is a team sport for two teams of 11 players each. A formal game of cricket can last anywhere from an afternoon to several days. Although the game play and rules are very different, the basic concept of cricket is similar to that of baseball. Teams bat in successive innings and attempt to score runs, while the opposing team fields and attempts to bring an end to the batting team’s innings.
After each team has batted an equal number of innings (either one or two, depending on conditions chosen before the game), the team with the most runs wins.
Cricket at the University
The University of Minnesota cricket club is the sole sponsor of cricketing activities at the Twin Cities campus. Membership boasts players from all over the world, with skill levels varying from novice to expert. The club was founded in late 1998 and since then has grown to a membership of approximately 100 people; students, staff, faculty and alumni are all involved.
The main purpose of the club is to promote, encourage and organize cricket and related activities at the University and to represent the school at the state and national competitions. For more information, you can e-mail the club at [email protected]