Four Gophers nominated for Kazmaier Award

Samuel Gordon

Four Gophers are among 30 nominees for the 2012 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award. The prestigious honor is awarded anually to the top player in Division I women's hockey.

Minnesota's Nominees

Junior defenseman Megan Bozek leads the WCHA in scoring amongst defensemen with 39 points (13 goals, 26 assists).

Sophomore forward Amanda Kessel leads Minnesota in scoring with 67 points (26 goals, 41 assists), good enough for fifth in the WCHA.

Senior forward Jen Schoullis is second on the team in scoring with 55 points (22 goals, 33 assists), the seventh highest total in the conference.

Junior goaltender Noora Raty, who eclisped the school mark in career shutouts earlier this season, is a nominee for the second straight year. The two-time All-American is 26-5-2 with a 1.48 goals against average.

The 34 NCAA Division I coaches will narrow the list of 30 down to 10 finalists, and that list will be trimmed down to three by March 8th.

The award will be given at a brunch ceremony in Duluth, Minn. on March 17th.