CSE Dean elected to National Academy of Engineering

Rebecca Harrington

The National Academy of Engineering announced 69 new members for its class of 2013 on Thursday, and the University of Minnesota College of Science and Engineering Dean Steven Crouch was among them.

"This is an honor of a lifetime and an honor for Minnesota as well," Crouch said in the University news release. "It recognizes the ongoing research conducted here at the University of Minnesota and the lasting contributions made to the field of engineering."

Current members vote on who should be considered as a new member every year. University President Eric Kaler became a member of the NAE in 2010.

"Dean Crouch’s election to the National Academy of Engineering is a testament to his deserved standing as a true leader in his field," Kaler said in the release. "We are proud of his career and of his leadership of our College of Science and Engineering."

Crouch is the 16th member elected to the Academy from the University. He joins 2,250 members in the U.S.

The NAE has elected 128 female members in its 49 years. None of them have been from the University of Minnesota.