Women’s hoops loses at No. 25 Nebraska by 21

Aaron Kirscht

The Gophers women’s basketball team was run out of Nebraska’s Delaney Center on Tuesday night, dropping a non-conference game to the No. 25 Cornhuskers, 68-47.
The Gophers shot a dismal 30 percent from the floor and gave up 32 turnovers in the game.
“I don’t know what to say,” coach Linda Hill-MacDonald said after the game. “It’s disappointing, it’s frustrating. We just didn’t play well at all.”
The Husker’s full-court press and quickness forced Hill-MacDonald to look to the farthest reaches of her bench as fatigue became a factor in the game. Walk-ons Margaret Blom and Teresa O’Hearn saw their first playing time of the season. Hill-MacDonald seemed satisfied with their performances.
“They got in there, they hustled and they gave us some quality minutes,” she said. “That’s really important for us right now.”
But several Gophers regulars struggled on the court. Freshman point guard Kiauna Burns played a season-high 37 minutes but managed only 2 points while committing eight turnovers. Angie Iverson, the Gophers’ leading scorer this season, shot 0 for 3 from the field and finished with only 2 points.
Sophomore guard Mindy Hansen led all scorers with 16 points, but she also had 10 turnovers.
“I’m real pleased that she shot a little better and also had 10 rebounds, which is excellent for her,” Hill-MacDonald said. “But she had the turnovers, and I’m not pleased with that.”

Gophers 24 23 — 47
Nebraska 36 32 — 68

Scoring: Robinson 0-4 2-2 2, Klun 2-10 6-6 10, Iverson 0-3 2-2 2, Hansen 7-16 1-2 16, Burns 1-5 0-1 4, Seago 1-4 2-2 4, Hass 4-6 1-3 9, O’Hearn 0-1 0-0 0, Blom 0-0 0-0 0.
Rebounds: Robinson 5, Klun 5, Iverson 12, Hansen 10, Burns 2, Hass 3, Seago 3, O’Hearn 1, Blom 1.
Zeruhn wins Hayes Award
Former Gophers swimmer Bernie Zeruhn was announced the winner of the Division I Woody Hayes National Scholar-Athlete Award on Tuesday.
Zeruhn beat out Arizona State quarterback Jake Plummer, who finished third in this year’s Heisman Trophy balloting, for the award.
Zeruhn was MVP of the Gophers 1996 Big Ten Championship team and compiled a 3.93 grade-point average in international business.
The Woody Hayes award is given annually to one man and one woman in each of the three collegiate divisions for demonstrating excellence in academics, athletics and community service.
Men’s Swimming
Gophers junior Manolis Lentaris was named Big Ten Athlete of the Month in swimming and diving Tuesday.
Lentaris has won nine of the 10 events he’s entered this season, including wins in the 200- and 500-yard freestyle against No. 22 Miami last month.
The Gophers men’s swimming and diving team is currently ranked No. 8 in the nation, their highest ranking of the season, with a record of 4-0.