Three Gophers named to Patty Kazmaier Award top-10 finalists

Grant Donald


Thursday, the 2015 Patty Kazmaier Award top-10 finalists were announced with three Gophers finding their names on the list.

Senior captain Rachel Ramsey, junior Hannah Brandt and sophomore Dani Cameranesi find themselves still in the running for women’s hockey’s most prestigious individual award.

The 10 players represent six schools around the nation, with the Gophers tied with Boston College for the most players nominated.

Brandt was named one of the top-three finalists last year but did not take home the trophy. Minnesota’s top scorer currently ranks second in the nation in points (62) and assists (35) in 34 games. She is only the 25th NCAA player to surpass 200 career points, with yet another year of eligibility remaining to add to her total.

Cameranesi is the only sophomore up for the award and ranks fourth in the nation in points (55) and third in the nation in assists (34). The Plymouth, Minn., native was named National Rookie of the Year during last season’s campaign.

Ramsey is one-of-two defenseman included in the top-10 finalists. The former Minnetonka Skipper ranks second among all NCAA defenseman in points (31) and assists (23). She was named the WCHA defensive player of the year last season.

The list will be narrowed down to three finalists, which will be announced on March 5. The award will then be presented to one of the finalists on March 21 at the McNamara Alumni Center on the University of Minnesota campus as part of Frozen Four weekend.

Two Gophers have taken home the award in the past, with Amanda Kessel winning the award in 2013 and Krissy Wendell taking home the trophy in 2005.