Joint legislative committee to recommend four regents

The full Legislature will make the final appointment next week

Alexi Gusso

The Minnesota House and Senate Higher Education Committees will recommend four candidates for appointment to the University of Minnesota Board of Regents at a joint meeting Tuesday night.

Out of the nine candidates, the joint committee will forward four recommendations to the full Legislature, which is slated to make the final approval next week.

Incumbents Linda Cohen and Dean Johnson, who were appointed to the board in 2007, are defending their at-large seats against Kelly Smith, the superintendent of the Belle Plaine School District. Smith was considered to replace outgoing regent Steve Sviggum last spring after he resigned. 

Drew Coveyou, Chris Tastad, and Abdul Omari are the three University students vying to fill an at-large seat reserved for a student. The seat was previously held by Maureen Ramirez, who was appointed in 2007 as a master’s student.

State law requires at least one member out of the 12-member board to be a student at the time of appointment.

Dennis Nguyen, Ertugrul Tuzcu and Peggy Lucas are each trying to replace outgoing regent Verona Hung to represent the state’s fifth congressional district on the board.

In the full Legislative meeting next week, legislators are free to vote for candidates not recommended by the joint committee. 

Each regent selected will serve a six-year term on the board.


Check out Wednesday’s Daily for the Commitees’ recommendations.