Minnesota announces 9 “M Club” inductees

Andrew Krammer

The University of Minnesota named nine inductees to its "M Club" Hall of Fame on Saturday, led by current Gophers wrestling coach J Robinson, the athletics department announced.

This is the 10th class since the men's and women's halls were combined into the "M Club" in 2003.

Class of 2012:
Lindsey Berg, Volleyball (1998-2001)
A four-year starter at Minnesota, Berg still ranks second all-time in Big Ten history in both services aces (283) and assists (5,913). A three-time All-Big Ten selection, Berg helped lead the Gophers to a pair of Big Ten runner-up finishes and NCAA Regional appearances in 1999 and 2000.
In 2004, Berg became the first from the Minnesota volleyball program to make the U.S. Olympic team. She appeared again on the U.S. team in 2008 and is expected to be a starting setter in the 2012 London Olympic games. She has also been named USA Volleyball's Indoor Female Athlete of the Year twice, in 2008 and 2011.
Tyrone Carter, Football (1996-99)
A four-year letterwinner as a defensive back with the Gophers, Carter holds the program's record for tackles (528) and currently ranks third in single-season tackles (158).
Carter won the 1999 Jim Thorpe Award, given annually to the top defensive back in college football. Carter was drafted in the fourth round by the Minnesota Vikings in the 2000 NFL Draft, playing in 158 games through an 11-year NFL career. He's a two-time Super Bowl champion — both with the Pittsburgh Steelers.
Bryan "Butsy" Erickson, Hockey (1979-83)
Erickson topped 80 points for the Gophers — twice — finishing his career as Minnesota's fourth all-time leading scorer with 238 points in 144 games.
The Roseau, Minn., native was a member of two WCHA regular-season championship teams, two WCHA playoff championship teams and played in two NCAA Frozen Fours with the Gophers.
Erickson played 351 games in the NHL for the Washington Capitals, Los Angeles Kings, Pittsburgh Penguins, and Winnipeg Jets before retiring after the 1993-94 season.
Chad Kraft, Wrestling (1996-99)
Kraft was Minnesota's first four-time All-American, never finishing outside of the top five at the national championships. He helped the Gophers to a second-place Big Ten finish in 1997 and a Big Ten title in 1999.
Kraft amassed a 115-23-0 record while at Minnesota.
Shani Marks Johnson, Track & Field (2000-03)
Johnson won three Big Ten titles while at Minnesota: two in outdoor triple jump (2001, 2003) and one in the indoor 600 meters (2001). She came to the Gophers as a high school state champion, was an All-American by her departure in 2003 and went on to win multiple USA titles.
In the next four years following her graduation, Johnson won three USA Outdoor triple jump titles (2006-2008) and two USA Indoor titles (2005, 2007). Johnson qualified for the 2008 Olympics by posting her career-best mark of 47 feet, 2 1/4 inches at the trials. She went on to place 28th in Beijing, becoming one of only three Olympians to ever come out of the Gophers' track and field program.
Dan Morgan, Baseball (1975-77)
A key member of Minnesota's last College World Series team in 1977, Morgan ranks second in school history in career ERA (1.97), tied for sixth in wins (21) and is ninth in career strikeouts (198). He is a first team All-American and a two-time All-Big Ten selection, and he posted an ERA of 1.56 in 94.2 innings during his All-American season in 1977.
Morgan was picked in the 15th round of the 1977 Major League Baseball draft by Montreal.
J Robinson, Wrestling Coach (1986-present)
Robinson was named Dan Gable Coach of the Year in 1998, 2001 and 2012.
Since Robinson's tenure as wrestling coach began in 1986, the Gophers have captured their first three national championships (2001, 2002, 2007) while the three-time national coach of the year has helped develop 57 All-Americans, 13 individual national champions, six Big Ten team titles and 29 individual Big Ten champions.
Robinson's wrestlers have amassed a total of 109 All-America honors, including an NCAA-record 10 All-Americans during the national championship run in 2001. Robinson's .743 winning percentage is a program record and is just five dual meet victories away from passing Wally Johnson for the all-time record.
Robinson was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2005.
John Williams, Football (1965-67)
Williams was a star offensive tackle for the Gophers, leading Minnesota to the 1967 Big Ten title. He was a three-year letterwinner and was named First Team All-American and First Team All-Big Ten in 1967.
Williams was drafted by the Baltimore Colts in the first round with the 23rd overall pick in the 1968 NFL Draft and went on to play 166 games over 12 seasons. Williams won his lone Super Bowl in 1970.
Jennifer Walek, Soccer (1993-95, 1997)
Walek is the Gophers' all-time leading scorer, a three-time All-Big Ten selection and the conference's 1995 Player of the Year. During her tenure with Minnesota, Walek set the program's record for points (162), goals (60), game-winning goals (17) and assists (42).
Part of Minnesota's Big Ten championship and NCAA Tournament teams of 1995 and 1997, Walek was crucial to the Gophers' success, finishing with double-digit totals in points both years, including a 50-point season in 1995.


The official induction for the 2012 class will be held at the DQ Club Room inside TCF Bank Stadium on Thursday, Sept. 20.