2009 Pulitzer Prize winners announced

Thomas Q. Johnson

 Pulitzer Medal

Image Source


The recipients of this year’s Pulitzer Prize were announced earlier this afternoon at Colombia University in New York City. This highly coveting annual prize is given in works from a variety of fields including journalism, literature, theater and music. A full list of the winners along with samples can be found on the Pulitzer website.


Some of this year’s winners included:

Breaking News Reporting – The New York Times for their coverage of the sex scandal that eventually caused the resignation of Governor Spitzer

Editorial Cartooning – Steve Breen of the San Diego Union-Tribune

Fiction – "Olive Kitteridge", a collection of short stories by Elizabeth Strout

Poetry – "The Shadow of Sirius" by W.S. Merwin

Music – "Double Sextet" by Steve Reich (Kanye foiled again! not enough piano)