Like a great jockey, coach Dennis Dale has rode the Minnesota men’s swim team to a win, place or show every year since 1988-89.
Large amounts of reloading and retooling will not be a priority this season, as the team lost only three seniors.
Coming back will be a trio of Big Ten champions; Alex Massura (100 and 200 backstroke), Jeff Hackler (200 breaststroke), and diver Dan Croaston (3-meter board).
With individual stars and team depth, Minnesota will be among the toughest teams to beat in the Big Ten.
In addition, the Gophers will look to achieve a finish at the NCAA meet in keeping with their seventh-place effort last year.