11 named to M club; Duenas wins Classic

The University of Minnesota “M” Club and the men’s athletics department will host the ninth annual Hall of Fame festivities this weekend. Eleven former athletes and a former team physician will be inducted into the prestigious “M” Club Hall of Fame on Friday, Oct. 29.
The inductees will be recognized in a special halftime ceremony during the football game Saturday against Purdue.
The 1999 inductees are as follows:
Contemporary Group: Ron Backes, track and field (1984-86); Marion Barber, football (1977-1980); Alfred “Bud” Ericksen, swimming (1962-64); Lew Kennedy, wrestling (1962-64); Trent Tucker, basketball (1979-82); Doug Woog, hockey (1964-66), coach (1985-99)
Pioneer Group: Neil Croonquist, golf (1934-38); Arnie Oss, basketball (1919-21), football (1919-21), track (1919-20); Alan Rice, wrestling (1947-50); Gordon Soltau, football (1946-49)
Lifetime Achievement Group: David Metzen, hockey (1962-64), Regent (1997-present); Harvey O’Phelan, team orthopedic surgeon (1962-83)
Men’s tennis
Minnesota junior Jorge Duenas won the Penn Fall Tennis Classic Sunday afternoon in Philadelphia, Pa. Duenas defeated the No. 3 seed Joost Hol 6-2, 7-6 (7-5) in the championship match.
This is the second year in a row a Gophers player has won the Penn Fall Tennis Classic. Last year, departed senior Tom Chicoine took the title.