Big Ten announces 2018, 2019 football schedules

Nate Gotlieb

The Gophers football team will play four conference home games in 2018 and five in 2019, the Big Ten announced Wednesday.

The conference announced the 2018 and 2019 Big Ten football schedules Wednesday. 

Minnesota is scheduled to open its 2018 season against Oregon State on Sept. 8. It will open its Big Ten schedule against Maryland on Sept. 29 and will also play Big Ten opponents Iowa, Ohio State, Nebraska, Indiana, Illinois, Purdue, Northwestern and Wisconsin.

Minnesota is scheduled to open its 2019 season with nonconference games against South Dakota State and Miami (Ohio).  It will then play Purdue, Illinois, Nebraska, Rutgers, Maryland, Penn State, Iowa, Northwestern and Wisconsin.

The Big Ten will switch to a nine-game conference schedule in 2016.  Maryland and Rutgers will join the conference next year.