DFL finalizes legislative leadership

by Bryna Godar

After winning back control of both the Minnesota House and Senate, the DFL has spent the last two weeks organizing its caucus and choosing leaders.

Last week, House and Senate DFLers elected previous minority leaders Sen. Tom Bakk and Rep. Paul Thissen to roles as Senate Majority Leader and Speaker of the House.  Sen. Katie Sieben, DFL-Cottage Grove, was elected as Assistant Senate Majority Leader and Rep. Erin Murphy, DFL-St. Paul, was elected as House Majority Leader.

This week, the DFL chose committee chairs and assignments for both the House and Senate.

Rep. Alice Hausman, DFL-St. Paul, who represents the University of Minnesota St. Paul campus, will chair the Capital Investment Committee in the House. The Capital Investment Committee drafts the final proposed bonding bill to be voted on by the House and merged with the governor’s and Senate’s proposed bills. The bonding bill, which is typically passed in even years, determines funding the University of Minnesota will receive for projects and upkeep of University buildings.

The University's Minneapolis campus representative, Phyllis Kahn, DFL-Minneapolis, will head the Legacy committee, and the higher education committees will be chaired by Sen. Terri Bonoff, DFL-Minnetonka, and Rep. Gene Pelowski, DFL-Winona.

Here are the full lists of Senate and House committee chairs:

Senate committee chairs

Rules and Administration: Sen. Tom Bakk

Subcommittee on Elections: Sen. Katie Sieben

Capital Investment: Sen. LeRoy Stumpf

Taxes: Sen. Rod Skoe

Tax Reform Division: Sen. Ann Rest

Finance: Sen. Dick Cohen

E-12 Division: Sen. Chuck Wiger

Environment, Economic Development, & Ag Division: Sen. David Tomassoni

Health and Human Services Division: Sen. Tony Lourey

Higher Ed and Workforce Development Division: Sen. Terri Bonoff

State Departments and Veterans Division: Sen. Tom Saxhaug

Transportation and Public Safety Division: Sen. Scott Dibble

Commerce: Sen. Jim Metzen

Education: Sen. Patricia Torres Ray

Environment & Energy: Sen. John Marty

Health, Human Services & Housing: Sen. Kathy Sheran

Jobs, Agriculture, and Rural Development: Sen. Dan Sparks

Judiciary: Sen. Ron Latz

State & Local Government: Sen. Sandy Pappas.


House committee chairs

Ways and Means: Rep. Lyndon Carlson 

Taxes: Rep. Ann Lenczewski

Property Tax Division: Rep. Jim Davnie

Higher Education Finance and Policy: Rep. Gene Pelowski

Education Finance: Rep. Paul Marquart 

Education Policy: Rep. Carlos Mariani

Health and Human Services Finance: Rep. Tom Huntley

Health and Human Services Policy: Rep. Tina Liebling

Capital Investment: Rep. Alice Hausman

Environment, Natural Resources, and Agriculture Finance: Rep. Jean Wagenius

Environment and Natural Resources Policy: Rep. David Dill

Agriculture Policy: Rep. Jeanne Poppe

Energy Policy: Rep. Melissa Hortman

Transportation Finance: Rep. Frank Hornstein

Transportation Policy: Rep. Ron Erhardt

Judiciary Finance and Policy: Rep. Debra Hilstrom

Commerce and Consumer Protection Finance and Policy: Rep. Joe Atkins            

Jobs and Economic Development Finance and Policy: Rep. Tim Mahoney

Labor, Workplace, and Regulated Industries: Rep. Sheldon Johnson

State Government Finance and Veterans Affairs: Rep. Mary Murphy

Legacy: Rep. Phyllis Kahn             

Housing Finance and Policy: Rep. Karen Clark

Government Operations: Rep. Michael Nelson

Elections: Rep. Steve Simon

Public Safety Finance and Policy: Rep. Michael Paymar

Early Childhood and Youth Development Policy: Rep. Joe Mullery

Civil Law: Rep. John Lesch

Rules and Legislative Administration: Rep. Erin Murphy