Women’s XC

Junior Rasa Michniovaite earned All-Big Ten honors and recorded the fastest time at a conference championship for a Gopher since 1991, leading Minnesota to a third place finish at the Big Ten championships Sunday in Ann Arbor, Mich.
Michniovaite’s third place finish is the best for a Minnesota runner since Lori Townsend placed third in 1995.
Sophomore Elaine Eggleston earned second-team All Big Ten honors for her 10th place finish.
No. 8 Wisconsin upset host and No. 3 Michigan to win its fourth consecutive conference title.
Men take fourth
Prior to the season, Gopher men’s cross country coach Steve Plasencia wanted to see continued improvement from his squad. Minnesota jumped from a ninth-place finish in 1996 to fourth in 1997.
Once again, however, the 18th-ranked Gophers finished fourth at the Big Ten championships Sunday in Ann Arbor, Mich.
Sophomore Joey Carr led the Gophers with a 10th-place finish. He was one of seven Gophers to finish in the top 30.
Michigan captured the title for the second consecutive year, followed by Michigan State and Wisconsin.
Minnesota will advance to the NCAA District V Championships Nov. 14 in Wichita, Kan.
Men’s swimmers beat ‘Cats
Minnesota captured 10 of 16 events to defeat Northwestern 178-120 at Evanston, Ill.
Senior Jono McLeod took first in the 100-fly and the 400-Individual Medley. Senior Martin Zielinski won the 100-fly.
In diving, sophomore Dan Croaston swept the one meter and three meter events.
Despite the victory, head coach Dennis Dale said he wasn’t very impressed with the performance.
“It’s nice to win when you don’t perform as well,” Dale said. “We had weaker turns than Northwestern and we’re the defending Big Ten champions. We shouldn’t be doing that. Overall, I thought our performance was mediocre.”
The men will travel to Chapel Hill, N.C. this weekend for a meet with North Carolina, South Carolina, and Pittsburgh.
Wang wins at Florida State
Sophomore Tammy Wang won the Flight C Singles title at the Florida State Classic in Tallahassee. Wang defeated Natalie Carratala, 4-6, 6-4, 6-2 in the final.
The doubles team of freshman Jen Howard and junior Nora Sauska lost the flight B doubles finals to Jenny Miller and Staci Ryan of Vanderbilt.
In the Flight A doubles consolation, seniors Tarah Elkins and Alice Rangsithienchai lost in the finals to Alexandra Guzman and Maria Montoya of Florida International.