Dayton appoints new Met Council members

The appointments will become official Monday after a mandatory five-day review.

John Hageman

Gov. Mark Dayton appointed 15 new members to the Metropolitan Council Monday, including a couple of former DFL legislators and four people tied to organized labor.

The Met Council is the regional planning agency of the Twin Cities area, and heads Metro Transit.

Lona Schreiber of Brooklyn Park served in the Minnesota House from 1979 to 1988. Sandra Rummel served in the State Senate from 2007 to 2010.

Wendy Wulff of Lakeville, one of 12 council members seeking reappointment, is the only returning member of the council.

Dayton filed notice of intent to appoint forms with the Secretary of State Wednesday. The appointments will become official Monday after a five-day review.

The announcement comes almost two months after Dayton appointed Susan Haigh as the council chair.

âÄúThere were a tremendous number of high-caliber candidates who applied to serve on the Council,âÄù Haigh said in a statement. âÄúI think Governor Dayton made excellent choices and I look forward to working with the Governor and the new Council to move forward with our vision for the region.âÄù