Women’s track and field finishes first at Big Ten

The Gophers won their third outdoor conference tournament.

Temi Ogunrinde holds up a medal during the Big Ten Championship on May 12, 2017. 

Image by Courtesy of Becky Miller, Gopher Athletics

Temi Ogunrinde holds up a medal during the Big Ten Championship on May 12, 2017. 

by Drew Cove

The Gophers did something they had never accomplished before in women’s track and field.

No. 11 Minnesota emerged as the overall team champion in both the indoor and outdoor Big Ten tournament on Sunday in Bloomington, Indiana. The Gophers finished with 134 points, beating second-place Purdue by two points.

Minnesota had two first-place finishers, Temi Ogunrinde in hammer throw and Nicolle Murphy in javelin throw. Ogunrinde got 10 points from her throw that went 219 feet, 8 inches. Murphy led the way in javelin throw with a distance of 180 feet, 5 inches.

Besides Ogunrinde, the Gophers had two other top-four finishes in the hammer throw. Agnes Esser finished third and Nayoka Clunis in fourth. With those three finishes, Minnesota dominated the rest of the conference in the event. The Gophers had 21 points from hammer throw — their most in a single event — while the host, Indiana, was the nearest point getter with eight.

The Gophers also earned 14 points from the high jump event, 11 from the javelin throw and 10 from the shot put and pole vault. 

Ashley Ramacher and Heta Tuuri finished at 5 feet, 11.50 inches in second and third in the high jump, respectively.

Rachel Schow, Titania Markland, Emma Spagnola and Emerald Egwim finished second in the 4×100 meter relay in 44.22 seconds, a Minnesota program record.

Minnesota’s team title marks the second time in three years that the program has won the Big Ten outdoor title. In 2016, the Gophers tied for first with Michigan and in 2017, they finished second in the outdoor. 

Until 2018, the Gophers had gone on a drought of nearly 10 years from the indoor team title. The last time Minnesota won the indoor team title was 2009, the third year of a three-peat for the Gophers that started in 2007.