Four swimmers to be inducted

Minnesota’s men’s and women’s swimming and diving programs will induct four former swimmers, Del Cerney, Sean Quackenbush, Olga Splichalova Espinosa and Kim (Wilson) Williams, into the University’s aquatic hall of fame during the halftime mark of the Oct. 17 alumni meet at the aquatic center.

An All-American and a four-time Big Ten champion, Cerney was a letterwinner from 1989-92. He won Big Ten titles in the 50 freestyle (1991 and 1992), the 200 medley relay (1992) and the 400 medley relay (1991) as well as All-America honors in the 200 free relay, the 50 medley free and the 400 medley relay.

Like Cerney, Quackenbush was a four-year letterwinner from 1989-92. During his time at Minnesota, Quackenbush was a three-time Big Ten champion, winning titles in the 100 butterfly (1990), 200 butterfly (1990) and 400 medley relay (1991). While gaining All-Big Ten honors, Quackenbush set the Big Ten record in the 100 butterfly at the 1990 conference meet.

While at Minnesota, Splichalova Espinosa was a seven-time All-American, earning three certificates in the 500 free, two in the 1650 free and one each in the 400 medley and 800 free relays. She earned three Big Ten titles during her tenure, including two in 1996 in the 500 and 1650 free. Espinosa left her mark in the record books as well. Before leaving Minnesota she held the 500 free record (4:46.95), which currently ranks second as Minnesota top performers.

Williams, meanwhile, helped the Gophers to a 39-3-1 dual meet record. A four-year letterwinner, Williams earned All-America honors in 1997 in the 1650 free. She also was a two-time Big Ten champion in the 1650 free in 1995 and 1997. Williams was also a two-time Academic All-Big Ten in 1997 and 1998. She still holds the best time in school history in both the 1000 free (9:49.68) and the 1650 free (16:14.67).