Serving the UMN community since 1900

The Minnesota Daily

Serving the UMN community since 1900

The Minnesota Daily

Serving the UMN community since 1900

The Minnesota Daily

Daily Email Edition

Get MN Daily NEWS delivered to your inbox Monday through Friday!


Performer Mayyadda singing at the University of Minnesota Juneteenth Celebration “We Are The Noise: The Echoes of Our Ancestors” captured on Saturday, June 15.
Best photos of June '24
Published June 23, 2024

Gophers dominate Bison Open

Minnesota took home nine individual titles against watered-down competition.
Gophers dominate Bison Open
Image by Jules Ameel, Daily File Photo

Matched up against watered-down competition, the Gophers wrestling team went into the Bison Open and took care of business.

The team captured nine individual titles, including at 157 pounds, where Jake Deitchler competed for the first time in more than a year.

The only weight class Minnesota didnâÄôt win was 174, in which true freshman Logan Storley took second. He reached the title match, but an injury default forced him from the bout.

Coaches were not available for comment on StorleyâÄôs injury.

Zach Sanders (125 pounds), David Thorn (133), Nick Dardanes (141), Dylan Ness (149), Deitchler (157), Cody Yohn (165) Kevin Steinhaus (184), Sonny Yohn (197) and Tony Nelson (Heavyweight) all took first place in their respective weight divisions.

In his first action after sitting out last season with lingering concussion symptoms, Deitchler recorded a pin and major decision en route to a 7-5 overtime win against Steven Monk from North Dakota State University in the first place match for 157 pounds.

Sanders went 4-0 on the day with a pin, two technical falls and a major decision. He defeated NDSUâÄôs Trent Sprenkle 22-7 for the title.

Thorn coasted to the first-place match at 133 with a major decision and two pins. In the finals, he ran into teammate Chris Dardanes and defeated him 2-1 in overtime. Thane Antczak placed third in the weight class and Randy Hanson took fourth.

Two Gophers also competed against each other in the first place match at 141, where Nick Dardanes prevailed over Seth Lange, 11-10.

Ness defeated Matt Mincey 15-5 for the 149 title.

Cody Yohn had two technical fall victories before beating Jacob Begin from Southwest Minnesota State University 4-3 in the first place match at 165.

Steinhaus rode two technical falls and two major decisions to first place at 184, where he defeated Mac Stoll from NDSU 10-2 to claim the title.

Sonny Yohn defeated Scott Schiller 3-1 to claim the 197 title in yet another all-Gophers final.

Nelson had a big weekend, as he recorded three pins on his way to the first-place match. He defeated Evan Knutson from NDSU 4-2.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Accessibility Toolbar

Comments (0)

All The Minnesota Daily Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *