Men’s Hockey Live Blog: Gophers vs. No. 3 Wisconsin

Max Sanders

FINAL-Minnesota loses a heartbreaker 3-2. The Gophers had several goals taken away upon review, and Schroeder alone had four excellent chances, none of which found the back of the net. 4:12 3rd-Despite all the chances seemingly going Minnesota’s way, it’s Wisconsin that takes the late lead, when Craig Smith scored his second goal of the night on a shot high and past Kangas. GOPHERS 2, WISCONSIN 3. 6:24 3rd-The Gophers had another puck go in net, but it was waved off because the whistle blew prior to the puck going in, due to the net getting moved earlier in the play. 11:06 3rd-Minnesota will be on the power play, as Wisconsin’s Ben Grotting was cited for elbowing. Due to technical difficulties at the Target Center, we were disconnected for the remainder of the second period. In the third period, Kevin Wehrs blasted a shot from just inside the blue line that went right through the legs of Gudmandson for the goal. GOPHERS 2, WISCONSIN 2. 8:01 2nd-Minnesota commits another penalty, as Patrick White is called for holding. 17:02 2nd-On the two-man advantage, Cade Fairchild fired a shot from just inside the blue line. The shot deflected in front of the net, and Mike Hoeffel punched the puck in through Gudmandson’s legs, and the referee signaled goal. The play was reviewed, and the goal was disallowed because the referee ruled Hoeffel, who was in the crease, interfered with Gudmandson. 17:41 2nd-Minnesota will have just more then one minute of a five-on-three, as both Michael Davies and Cody Goloubef have been sent to the box. 1st Intermission Re-Cap: Goals: Gophers 1(Flynn); Wisconsin 2 (Smith, Schultz) Shots on Goal: Gophers 5; Wisconsin 13 Penalties: Gophers 4; Wisconsin 1 Instant Analysis: An eventful first period began great for Minnesota, taking the lead on Flynn’s shorthanded goal; his second goal of the season and first with a goalie in net, as his first goal was an empty netter. However, after committing penalty after penalty Wisconsin capitalized, twice scoring on the man-advantage to take the lead. As we head to the second period the Gophers will look to come back from the one goal deficit. 1:10 1st-Jacob Cepis took a pass and went all alone for the breakaway. After deking right Cepis fired high right and the puck appeared to hit the pipe. After reviewing the play the referee ruled no goal. 2:24 1st-After Budish was sent to the box again, Wisconsin takes their first lead of the night when Justin Schultz skated down the left side and put a shot high past Kangas. GOPHERS 1, WISCONSIN 2. 7:55 1st-The Gophers will be a man down for the third time this period, as Zach Budish was called for tripping. 10:05 1st-Minnesota had its best chance so far to put the lead back at 1 but failed to capitalize. Jake Hansen sparked a two-on-one and after finding Schroeder with the perfect feed in the crease the sophomore fired wide right of the net. 13:07 1st-This time the Badgers capitalize on the man-advantage. Craig Smith skated down the left side and put a shot past the glove side of Kangas for the goal. GOPHERS 1, WISCONSIN 1. 13:26 1st-Wisconsin will be on its second power play of the night after Mike Hoeffel was cited for tripping.

15:44 1st-After a penalty on Minnesota’s David Fischer, senior captain Ryan Flynn stole the puck on the right boards. Flynn skated all alone on the breakaway and fired a shot past Gudmanson’s glove side for the shorthanded goal. GOPHERS 1, WISCONSIN 0.

Live from the Target Center, technical problems with the internet high above the ice in the press box prevented the usual pre-game report. Here are the lines for each team:

Gophers First Line:

Left Wing-Jacob Cepis

Center-Jordan Schroeder

Right Wing-Jake Hansen

Left Defense-Nick Leddy

Right Wing-David Fischer

Goalie-Alex Kangas

Note: Absent from the first line is Zach Budish. The freshman is paired on the third line with Tony Lucia and Patrick White because the last time these two teams met that third line produced four goals, two coming from Budish.

Wisconsin First Line: 

Left Wing-John Mitchell

Center-Aaron Bendickson

Right Wing-Patrick Johnson

Left Defense-Brendan Smith

Right Defense-John Ramage

Goalie-Scott Gudmandson