Freshmen lead

The Minnesota men’s swimming and diving team kicked off its season this weekend with the annual Alumni/Intrasquad Meet at the Aquatic Center.
A host of newcomers won several events for the varsity squad, which won 16 of 19 events overall. Freshman Dov Malnik of Rishon le-zion, Israel, won the 100- and 200-meter breast stroke, and the 200 Individual Medley.
Ricardo Dornelas of Belo Horizonte, Brazil, won the 25-meter freestyle and the 50-fly. Chad Krastins won the 100-fly, and Brandon Cook won the 500-freestyle.
The men’s swimming and diving team will travel to Evanston, Ill., Saturday, Oct. 31, for a dual meet with Northwestern.
Chicoine wins tourney
Gophers senior Tom Chicoine, the No. 1 seed, won the Penn Classic Tournament in Philadelphia, Pa., schooling the No. 3 seed Doug Bohaboy of Northwestern, 6-2, 6-3 in the finals.
Chicoine, a native of Neenah, Wis., defeated Scott Watnik of Columbia in the first round. He then beat Thomas Bonicke of Clemson in straight sets, and Mike Griesser of Penn State to reach the finals.
Hennen lifts Maroon
Jenny Hennon won three individual swimming events and T.D. Rowe won both diving events as the Maroon team beat the Gold during the annual Minnesota Intrasquad/Alumni meet at the Aquatics Center.
Hennon won individual events in the 1000-freestyle, 200-butterfly, and the 25-freestyle. Rowe won the 1-meter and the 3-meter diving events.
The Gophers will compete in North Carolina on Nov. 6-7 against Michigan and North Carolina.
Hartmark wins 5K
Junior Eric Hartmark captured the Marathon Sports 5K title at the Les Bolstad Golf Course with a time of 15:22.
The men’s cross country team will travel to Ann Arbor, Michigan on Nov. 1 for the Big Ten championships.
St. Olaf defeats U women
St. Olaf defeated the Minnesota women’s cross country team, 41-20 at the Les Bolstad Cross Country Course.
Minnesota’s top nine runners did not compete as they are preparing for this weekend’s Big Ten championships.
Women’s golf third
The Gophers women’s golf team shot a second round 306 to break away from a sixth place tie and finished third at the Bonita Bay Invitational.
Donna Boom shot a second-round 75 to finish ninth overall with a 154. Melanie Lepp also shot a 75 to finish 10th with a 155.
Big Ten breakdown
CHICAGO (AP) — Michigan State was chosen in both the coaches’ and media preseason polls to win the Big Ten men’s title. The Spartans shared the championship with Illinois last season. Indiana was picked second in the coaches’ poll and third in the media balloting. Purdue was third in the coaches’ poll and second in the media voting.
Mateen Cleaves of Michigan State, Michigan’s Louis Bullock, Indiana’s A.J. Guyton, Ohio State’s Michael Redd and Northwestern’s Evan Eschmeyer were selected on the preseason All-Big Ten team by coaches and media.
Coaches and media both selected Purdue to win the women’s conference title. Penn State was picked second and Wisconsin third by the coaches. Illinois was second and Penn State third in the media selections.
Purdue’s Stephanie White-McCarty and Ukari Figgs, Penn State’s Andrea Garner and Northwestern’s Kristina Divjak were selections on both the coaches’ and media preseason teams.