Gophers women’s basketball schedule released

Charlie Armitz

The Big Ten released the women’s basketball conference schedule Friday. The Gophers are set to begin the season on Nov. 10 against Washington State at Williams Arena.

The women’s team, like the men’s team, will tip off Big Ten play against Michigan State. However, unlike the men, the women will be playing their first conference game on the road.

Minnesota will play back-to-back road games at Michigan State and Wisconsin before hosting Ohio State in its home conference opener.

Last year, the Gophers went 6-10 in conference play and lost in the second round of the Big Ten Tournament.

October

Concordia, St. Paul — Wednesday, Oct. 31 (Exhibition)

November

Minnesota State — Sunday, Nov. 4 (Exhibition)

Opening Tournament

Washington State — Saturday, Nov. 10
Championship/Consolation Game — Sunday, Nov. 11

Subway Classic

Ohio — Saturday, Nov. 17
Championship Game/Consolation Game — Sunday, Nov. 18

Cancun Challenge (Cancun, Mexico)

Richmond — Thursday, Nov. 22
James Madison — Friday, Nov. 23
Missouri — Saturday, Nov. 24

ACC/Big Ten Challenge

Virginia — Thursday, Nov. 29

December

at Kansas — Sunday, Dec. 2
Denver — Wednesday, Dec. 5
UMKC — Friday, Dec. 7
Robert Morris — Sunday, Dec. 9
Northern Iowa — Friday, Dec. 21
Creighton — Sunday, Dec. 30

January

Big Ten Schedule

at Michigan State — Thursday, Jan. 3
at Wisconsin — Sunday, Jan. 6
Ohio State — Thursday, Jan. 10
at Purdue — Thursday, Jan. 17
Nebraska — Sunday, Jan. 20
at Penn State — Thursday, Jan. 24
Illinois — Monday, Jan. 28
Michigan — Thursday, Jan. 31

February

at Nebraska — Sunday, Feb. 3
Iowa — Thursday, Feb. 7
at Illinois — Sunday, Feb. 10
Northwestern — Sunday, Feb. 17
at Ohio State — Thursday, Feb. 21
Purdue — Sunday, Feb. 24
Penn State — Thursday, Feb. 28

March

at Indiana — Sunday, Mar. 3

 

-Besty Helfand contributed to this report.