Michael Dougherty

The awards are piling up for Gophers safety Tyrone Carter, who was named to the first-team All-Big Ten team Monday by both the conference coaches and the media.
But while Carter’s nomination was expected, running back Thomas Hamner was a surprise second-team selection in both polls.
Hamner finished the season with 838 yards rushing and four touchdowns, and now ranks fourth all-time in the Gophers team record books.
Carter, meanwhile, broke his own team record, which he set last year for tackles in a season, with 157. He ran in two touchdowns this year; one on a kickoff return on the opening play of the season and the other a fumble return against Memphis.
Carter had nine tackles in the Iowa game, his 12-game streak of double-digit tackles snapped.
“I just let my actions take care of all the awards, but it is an honor,” Carter said. “I would have been more happy if we would have made it to a bowl game, though.”
The conference award comes on the heels of Carter’s naming to the first-team Football Writers All-American Team, joining Lamanzer Williams (1997) as the only first-team honorees.
Center Ben Hamilton and defensive lineman Antoine Richard were named as Big Ten honorable mention on both lists. And wide receiver Luke Leverson and kicker Adam Bailey were named honorable mention by the coaches, while safety Keith Dimmy and linebacker Parc Williams were cited on the media poll.
Carter is the seventh player this decade to make the first-team, joining center Chris Thome (1990), defensive back Sean Lumpkin (1991), tight end Patt Evans (1991), running back Chris Darkins (1994) and defensive end Lamanzer Williams last year.
Carter and Williams become the first Gophers duo to make the All-Big Ten team in back-to-back seasons since Bobby Bell and Carl Eller did so in 1962-63.
Ohio State quarterback Joe Germaine was named Offensive Player of the Year on the coaches poll, but Purdue quarterback Drew Brees garnered the honor from the media.
The Defensive Player of the Year award was also split with Wisconsin lineman Tom Burke winning the vote from the media and Penn State linebacker LaVar Arrington taking home the coaches vote.
Wisconsin coach Barry Alvarez was selected by the media as Coach of the Year, and Indiana quarterback Antwaan Randle El was named Freshman of the Year by both polls.