U recognizes four outstanding advisers

Robin Huiras

The University community acknowledged the integral role advisers play in students’ lives Tuesday by honoring several counselors with awards.
The Academic Advising Network presented the 1998 John Tate Awards to four University advisers for excellence in undergraduate academic advising.
“Good advising is critical to student success, and these people exemplify this work,” said Craig Swan, vice provost for undergraduate education.
This year’s recipients are Caroline Gilbert of student services in General College, Paul Hesterman and Lynn Anderson Scott of College Liberal Arts Pre-major Advising and Kent Olson, an applied economics professor in the College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences.
A gift of $1,500 and a framed certificate of recognition were presented to the recipients at a ceremony in the Hubert H. Humphrey Center.
This is the 11th year the advising network has given out this award. University recognition of this type of work is very appropriate, Swan said.
“There isn’t much out there to recognize the attention these people are giving to students,” said Susan Hunter Weir, an assistant in CLA Student Academic support services and a former award winner.
To receive the award, advisers must be nominated by students, staff or faculty members. The nominee creates a file of letters and career information, which is then reviewed by a selection committee, Hunter Weir said.
Any student, staff member, administrator or professor directly involved in academic advising is eligible to win the award.
“It is a recognition of professional status, the importance of advising on campus and is a remarkable honor and outstanding award to win,” Hunter Weir said.