Women’s Swimming and Diving at Big Ten Championships Recap — Day 4

David Nelson


The Gophers raced past the competition the last four days and took home their third consecutive Big Ten conference title.

Minnesota jump started their night in the 1650-yard freestyle swim where sophomore Samantha Harding and freshman Breanne Siwicki took home second and third for the Gophers respectively. Indiana's Lindsay Vrooman continued her distance-freestyle dominance by winning the event in a time of 15:55.20.

Despite still being down by over one-hundred points to Minnesota in the stadings, the Hoosiers kept things close by placing first, second, third, fourth, and seventh in the 200-yard backstroke, earning them 80 points in one championship final.

But the Gophers kept going.

Sophomore Kierra Smith completed the sweep of the breaststroke events by winning the 200-yarder in a time of 2:06.66.

Senior diver Sarah McCrady provided the exclamation point for Minnesota when she claimed first in platform diving with a score of 329.50.

Minnesota ended the meet by finishing second in the 400-yard freestyle relay.

When the points totaled up, Minnesota won the meet with 760 points. Indiana took second with 649 while Penn State claimed third with 484 points.

Full recap of the Big Ten Championships to come in Monday's edition of the Minnesota Daily.