With a strong history at the Bison Open, Minnesota looks primed to dominate again

ItâÄôs probably safe to say the Minnesota menâÄôs wrestling team is looking forward to going to Fargo, N.D. The No. 12 Gophers kick off their 2008-09 season Saturday at the Bison Open, hosted by North Dakota State, a meet which they have utterly dominated over the years. Minnesota owns 159 individual championships in the tournamentâÄôs 38-year history, including eleven from last yearâÄôs event. Seven Gophers won outright championships in 2007, while four more shared co-champion honors. Eight of the 11 return this year, including 2008 NCAA runner-up Jayson Ness, now wrestling at 133 instead of 125, and Dustin Schlatter, a returning All-American. Ness begins the season ranked No. 2 nationally at 133 behind IowaâÄôs Joey Slaton.