Candidates announced for MSA, PSG, COGS president and vice president

The deadline to file for candidacy was Jan. 31, and five pairs filed to run for MSA student body president and vice president.

by Maraya King and Olivia Johnson

Wednesday was the last day for University of Minnesota students to file their candidacy to run in this year’s  student government elections.

Recent years have seen lower turnout in attracting candidates, but the All-Campus Election Commission didn’t confirm a full list of candidates until Thursday afternoon. 

Minnesota Student Association candidates

In the race for student body president and vice president, five dual-ticket teams are vying for the two spots, said Maria Versteeg from the ACEC.

The five candidates for president and vice president, respectively, are:

  • Simran Mishra and Mina Kian. Mishra is the current speaker of the forum for MSA and ran as a vice presidential candidate last year. Kian serves as the ranking representative to the Board of Regents for MSA.
  • Dobbs DeCorsey and Larranz Guider. DeCorsey is the president of the University of Minnesota speech team and Guider is a member of the team.
  • Shukri Elmi and Aasim Ali. Elmi is the vice president of the Al-Madinah Cultural Center and Ali is the webmaster of AMCC, according to the group’s website. 
  • Devon Severson and Nate Fredericks. Severson recently served as a field fellow for Minneapolis Mayor Jacob Frey, according to her Linkedin.
  • Krissy Van Laarhoven and Mackenzie Padington. Laarhoven and Padington are both members of the University’s swim and dive team.

Versteeg said 34 candidates applied for 20 open at-large representative positions. Last year, only 18 students applied for the openings.

Council of Graduate Students candidates

The four candidates for president are: 

  • Chemistry Ph.D candidate Sean Chen. Chen is currently COGS’ student representative to the University Board of Regents. 
  • Scott Petty, Ph.D candidate in the University’s College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences. He serves on the University’s finance committee and was previously involved in COGS. 
  • Graduate student Ryan Machtmes, representative to the University’s Graduate Education Council and cofounder of The Organization for Graduate and Professional Students with Disabilities. 
  • Jonathan Borowsky, former speaker of COGS and current University student senator. 

Chen and graduate student Danielle Paciulli filed to run for vice president.

Professional Student Government candidates

Three professional students, Mike Sund, Sonya Ewert and Alanna Pawlowski, filed to run for PSG president. Jeremy Kobany is the only candidate for PSG vice president. 

Student Senate candidates

Versteeg said 60 candidates filed to run for student senate positions.

This article has been updated to include more candidates.