Serving the UMN community since 1900

The Minnesota Daily

Serving the UMN community since 1900

The Minnesota Daily

Serving the UMN community since 1900

The Minnesota Daily

Daily Email Edition

Get MN Daily NEWS delivered to your inbox Monday through Friday!


A guide to elected officials representing University neighborhoods

For many University of Minnesota students, moving to Minneapolis means living in a new city, maybe even in a new state, and voting in new elections. Here are some of the elected officials representing students living on or near campus.

Minnesota State Legislature: 

Rep. Mohamed Noor (D): Noor represents all University-area neighborhoods, including Marcy-Holmes, Southeast Como, Cedar-Riverside and Prospect Park at the state Capitol. He has a background as a community organizer and in nonprofits. Noor is especially prominent in the Cedar-Riverside community. His seat will be up for re-election in 2020. 

Contact: 651-296-4257

Sen. Kari Dziedzic (D): Dziedzic is the state senator from the University-area. She is a third-term senator, most recently re-elected in 2016 for a six-year term.

Contact: 651-296-7809

Gov. Tim Walz and Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan (D): A former congressman representing southern Minnesota, Tim Walz was elected governor in 2018 alongside running mate Peggy Flanagan, a former state representative. 

Contact: 651-201-3400 

United States Congress: 

Rep. Ilhan Omar (D): Congresswoman Ilhan Omar represents eastern Hennepin County (primarily Minneapolis) in the U.S. House of Representatives. Omar was first elected in 2018 after serving in the state House, where she represented the University area in Rep. Mohamud Noor’s current seat. Omar has gained a national following since her election, often a target of attacks by President Donald Trump. She has advocated for policies including the Green New Deal and Medicare for All. Omar will be up for re-election in 2020. 

Contact: 202-225-4755

Sen. Tina Smith (D): Smith has served in the Senate since 2018. A former lieutenant governor, she was appointed to the Senate by then-Governor Mark Dayton following the resignation of Sen. Al Franken (D). Smith was elected to serve the remainder of Franken’s term and her seat will be up for election again in 2020. 

Contact: 202-224-5641

Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D): Klobuchar, who is currently running for president, serves Minnesota in the Senate. A third-term Senator, Klobuchar was re-elected alongside Smith in 2018 to a six-year term. Along the presidential campaign trail, Klobuchar has emphasized her ability to reach across the aisle in Congress and pass legislation. 

Contact: 202-224-3244

Minneapolis City Council: 

Council Member Steve Fletcher: Fletcher represents the Marcy-Holmes neighborhood, including Dinkytown. A former University of Minnesota student, Fletcher is a member of the Democratic-Farmer-Labor party. He was first elected in 2017 for a four year term. 

Contact: 612-673-2203

Council member Cam Gordon: Gordon, who has saved since 2006, represents the Prospect Park and Southeast Como neighborhoods, along with part of Cedar-Riverside. A member of the Green Party, he represents Superblock and Middlebrook residence halls. He was re-elected in 2017 to serve a four year term. 

Contact: 612-673-2202

Council member Abdi Warsame: Warsame represents Cedar-Riverside along with Gordon. A second-term council member and member of the DFL party, Warsame was elected in 2017 to a four year term. 

Contact: 612-673-2206

Leave a Comment

Accessibility Toolbar

Comments (0)

All The Minnesota Daily Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *