Women’s soccer announces 2011 recruits

by Andrew Baker

The Gophers women’s soccer team announced its 2011 recruiting class Wednesday, and it’s a good one.

The group of seven players includes two members of Eden Prairie’s undefeated 2010 state championship team, Kathleen Thyken and Taylor Uhl.

Uhl, winner of Minnesota’s 2010 Ms. Soccer award and the Star Tribune’s 2010 female player of the year, earned all-state honors three times.

Thyken and Uhl both earned ESPN Rise All-America honors in 2010. Uhl is a two-time all-state selection.

Becca Roberts, whom the Gophers recruited from Centennial, led the Cougars to three Northwest Suburban Conference titles and a berth in the 2009 state tournament. In 2010, The Pioneer Press named Roberts their female player of the year.

Karalyn Leetz, a goalkeeper out of St. Paul Park, was a 2010 all-state selection and three-time all-conference award-winner.

“We are thrilled about the 2011 class,” Gophers coach Mikki Denney Wright said in a release. “We know it’s one of the best classes we have ever recruited here at Minnesota soccer, and we’re very excited about their potential.”

The group:

Brianne Price (Apple Valley)

Sheridan Reiners (Bloomington Kennedy)

Becca Roberts (Centennial)

Kathleen Thyken * (Eden Prairie)

Taylor Uhl * (Eden Prairie)

Taylor Wodnick * (Wayzata)

Karalyn Leetz (Park)

* 2010 All-Americans