Wrestling at-large bids announced, Gophers left out

by Austin Cumblad

The NCAA released the full list of 330 qualifiers for the Division I wrestling tournament Wednesday afternoon.  Three Minnesota grapplers – Matt Everson (174), Sonny Yohn (184) and Gordon Bierschenk (197) – were in the running for an at-large bid, but all three were excluded from the field.

The at-large qualifiers were selected by the NCAA Division I wrestling committee based on metrics such as winning percentage, RPI, and coaches ranking and supplementary performance measures including quality wins, head-to-head competition and results against common opponents.

The Gophers will send five automatic qualifiers to the championships, which start March 19 in St. Louis – Zach Sanders (125), Jayson Ness (133), Mike Thorn (141), Tyler Safratowich (157) and Ben Berhow (Hwt).